Sarah, The Business Woman

Goodbye Rutgers. Hello Viacom.

Summer allowed me to live out my youthful life in the most free way possible — traveling with friends and alone. After graduation instead of going straight to a full-time job I figured it would be best to throw myself a last hurrah before I begin the meticulous eight hour work life. I loved every moment of my Summer and do not regret my decision, whatsoever.

However, it was time to say goodbye to Summer as the leaves started to fall down — indicating to start of a new season and a new chapter of life. I was lucky, in the sense, that I did not have to go through an intense job search like most (more like majority) of the college graduates undergo. I was able to find a four-leaf clover during my last internship. That four-leaf clover being the department I interned for. I can say out of my internships during college the one that has benefitted me the most was Viacom. I learned a lot about how corporate works through the many different lenses of duties I underwent each day. I enjoyed going into the office and would find myself wanting to log more hours. I became close with my department members and was lucky enough to be called back after graduation.

Here I am back at Viacom. Working in Viacom puts me in the heart of New York City, allowing me to yelp and google restaurants and cafes I can visit after work with friends or myself. During lunch though I find myself eating in the cafeteria offered to the employees.

Therefore, today I blog about my life but most importantly the super delicious AVOCADO TOAST! Normally, the cafeteria is relatively cheap, considering I can eat a sandwich or salad for less than $5.00. There are “special” foods that are a wee bit pricier. For instance, my avocado toast with smoked salmon was priced at $8.50. I still find this cheaper than the options surrounding my work place. Once again, Times Square is priced high due to the influx of tourists on a daily basis.

 

fullsizerender

The avocado toast was spread on sourdough bread. I chose smoked salmon as my protein amongst the other choices of poached eggs or vegetable.

Other food choices offered in the cafeteria are:

Soup: Chicken Noodle, Tomato Basil, Miso, Lemon Chicken Orzo, Roasted Eggplant and Tomato

Energy Plate: Grilled Chicken Breast, Roast Beef Red Wine Sauce, Sweet Chili Grilled Pork Tenderloin

Sides (with energy plate): Baked Potatoes, Steamed Broccoli, Brown Rice, Whole Wheat Penne Olive Oil

Action (known to be the special menu): Avocado Toast, Buffalo Chicken Wrap, Special Guest Terri NYC

Global: Nacho Bar, Mushroom Festival, Global Vegetarian – Japanese

Catch of the Day: Fish and Chips, Steak Fries, Dill Caper and Tartar Sauce

Specialty Sandwich: Grilled Eggplant, Red Lentil Hummus, Crumbled Feta and Prosciutto, Fresh Mozzarella, Marinated Peppers, Arugula

Pressed Sandwich: Pastrami and Swiss, Sauerkraut Mustard and Smoked Turkey & Bie, Herb-Honey Mustard

This is not all as I picked and chose from the extensive menu that changes daily. The Salad Bar and the Italian Station are always the same.

Now that I have fallen in love with their lunch options, perhaps I’ll check out the breakfast, as well! If they have an omelette bar then I’ll be one happy camper.

 

Leave a Reply

